Backward Mutters
Backward Mutters Podcast
Your Word Unlocks
4
0:00
-2:49

Your Word Unlocks

Psalm 119:129-144
4

Several years ago, as I was preaching through Psalm 119, I wrote a series of poems inspired by their verses. This sonnet derives its inspiration from Psalm 119:129-144 and especially verse 130 which reads, “The unfolding of your words gives light; it imparts understanding to the simple.”

When I was posting these poems, my father-in-law recorded himself reading one and texted it to me. He was a bit unsure if it was presumptuous, but it wasn’t. Rather it was a completion or fulfillment of the poem. Words that find their expression in others voices is one of the ways a poem becomes a poem. So, thank you Ed for sharing this with me and for all the gifts you given. Happy Birthday!

Your word unlocks, runs straight, is just and right;
It cuts to the heart and pierces the night.
Strong and stable, firmness to rest upon
Is your word, the promise I depend on.

I am small and despised; my enemy knows
I am but a breath, can be felled with blows:
A roll of the eye, a sigh, fuels the shame
Of my thirst for the draughts of praise and fame.

But you redeem this fear-of-failure's slave,
Steal sin’s sting and the victory of the grave;
Your light beckons, draws me into the day
Sets me to walk in the steps of your way.

I wonder, Is that word too good? Can it be?
The Word cries, “It is finished!” Bids, “Follow me.”

© Randall Edwards 2018
Read by Edward Pilkington

Artwork: James Tissot (French, 1836-1902). The Woman with an Issue of Blood (L'hémoroïsse), 1886-1896. Opaque watercolor over graphite on gray wove paper, Image: 11 x 7 1/16 in. (27.9 x 17.9 cm). Brooklyn Museum, Purchased by public subscription, 00.159.111 (Photo: Brooklyn Museum, 00.159.111_PS2.jpg). No copyright restrictions.

Discussion about this podcast

Backward Mutters
Backward Mutters Podcast
At Backward Mutters I'll be posting thoughts on various topics of personal interest which will likely be limited to poetry, C.S. Lewis, and Jesus because, try as I may, I can't stop talking about either.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
Pocket Casts
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Randy Edwards